#### The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

## **Diocese of Christchurch**

PO Box 4438, Christchurch 8140, NEW ZEALAND

## Elections to be held at Synod, September 2023

The various Board and committee positions listed below will be vacant at the time of Synod and nominations for suitable candidates are sought. As advised nominations will close at 9.00am on

Saturday, 2<sup>nd</sup> September (per Diocesan Synod Statute, 5.4.1). We encourage nominations to be submitted prior to that time.

#### When nominating, please make sure that:

- The **permission** of the person has been obtained before you nominate them.
- Clergy who are nominated should not be planning study leave during their (anticipated) term of office.
- The nominee is **committed to,** and is able to, **attend meetings**. This is particularly important for meetings of General Synod, the Standing Committee of the Diocese, Church Property Trustees, Anglican Care Trust Board, and the Board of Nomination. The usual meeting dates/times are listed below.
- Nominees are members of Synod (for Standing Committee nominations) or a member of the Church (for Church Property Trustee nominations).
- A brief **profile** of the person is included on the nomination form and a **photo** if possible. This helps Synod members to identify the candidates who they may not know.
- When nominating, please consider the desirable skills and attributes listed below and a balance of age, rural/urban, and gender.
- A blue nomination form is available for nominations at per-Synod meetings and at Synod. An electronic version is available to be downloaded from <a href="mailto:anglicanlife.org.nz/Diocesan-Life/Synod">anglicanlife.org.nz/Diocesan-Life/Synod</a>, or by email from the Diocesan Administration Assistant at <a href="mailto:dioadmin@anglicanlife.org.nz">dioadmin@anglicanlife.org.nz</a>.
- Nominations should be submitted to the Diocesan Manager either by post to PO Box 4438, Christchurch 8140, or by electronic scan, emailed to <a href="mailto:diomanager@anglicanlife.org.nz">diomanager@anglicanlife.org.nz</a>.
- Please forward nominations as early as possible and preferably by Friday, 1st September to allow time to set
  up and prepare voting papers in advance. Nominations will not be posted on the website but those received in
  good time will be circulated electronically to members prior to Synod.

## **Standing Committee of the Diocese**

Standing Committee meets at the Anglican Centre, 95 Tuam Street on the 1<sup>st</sup> Wednesday of the month at 5.00pm.

1 clergy member and 1 lay member are required for a three-year term (renewable once). NB: Nominees for Standing Committee must be Synod members. The Diocesan Standing Committee is the Synod between Synods and is concerned with governance for the whole Diocese.

Current Members of **Standing Committee**, and the year their term ends are:

*Clergy*: The Ven Nick Mountfort (Vicar Upper Riccarton Yaldhurst)\*, Rev'd Michael Brantley (Vicar Avonhead Parish 1<sup>st</sup> Term 2024), Rev'd Kofe Havea (Vicar Cashmere Parish 1<sup>st</sup> Term 2024), Rev'd Lucy Flatt (Vicar Highfield, Kensington & Otipua Parish 1<sup>st</sup> Term 2025).

*Laity*:, Mrs Kirsty May (Avonhead Parish 2nd Term 2025)\*, Mr David Prosser (Rangiora Parish 2<sup>nd</sup> Term 2025)\*, Mrs Corinne Haines (Fendalton Parish 1<sup>st</sup> Term 2024), Mrs Fran Boyd(Bryndwr Parish)\*

\* Retiring and eligible for re-election \*\* Retiring and not standing again.

NB Ven Nick Mountfort and Mrs Fran Boyd have being filling seats that became vacant during the year.

#### **Skills** and **attributes** needed on Standing Committee include:

- ability to think strategically
- accountancy
- young leaders

C:\Users\diomgr\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache\Content.Outlook\O1XOQW04\2023 Synod Elections Published Version 1.docx

Christ-Centred Mission mindedness and commitment to the Anglican Church.
 Some experience of the breadth and diversity of the Diocese would be useful.

## **Church Property Trustees – 2 trustees are required**; (two retiring and eligible for re-election)

The Trust Board meets on the first Thursday of the month at 4.30pm

Four trustees are elected by the Trust Board to the Audit Risk, and Finance sub-committee, which meets as required.

In accordance with the CPT Act, the 8 trustees are "elected by Synod and at each annual session of Synod the two longest serving trustees must retire and the Synod must elect 2 members of the Church to be Trustees. A retiring trustee is eligible to be re-elected as a trustee".

#### Current trustees with the **year of their election** are:

Mrs Susan Sullivan (2021) Mr Steve Wakefield (2021) Mr Robert Bijl (2019)
Ms Sammy Mould (2019)\*\* Mr Peter Flannery (2019) Mr Simon Courtney (2020)
Mr Chris Wilson (2020) Dr Corin Murfitt (2020)\*\*

# Skills and attributes particularly needed for the Church Property Trust Board include professional skills in any of:

- Governance
- Finance or Accounting
- Investment or Insurance
- Buildings and property
- Engineering
- Project management

### The Craighead Diocesan School Proprietors – 1 member required

The Craighead Diocesan School Proprietors meets approximately six time a year at 5.15pm 3 members elected by Synod for a term of three years

Current Proprietors (years shown are the years they retire) are: Elected by Synod – Dr. William Rolleston (2024), Ms Susan Pahl (2025), Mrs Tracy McLeod (2023)\* Appointed by the Archdeaconry – Rev'd Ben Randall (2024), Mrs Amelia Dale (2023)\*\*

#### Skills and attributes needed for the Craighead Diocesan School Proprietors are:

- Christian faith,
- Anglican Church commitment,
- Governance ability,
- An interest in young people and what helps them thrive in a residential educational setting.

## Representatives for General Synod/Te Hinota Whanui 2024

3 clergy representatives and 4 lay representatives required

GSTHW will meet in Hastings, 19-24 May to consider the business of the Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia. Preliminary information for prospective representatives to GSTHW can be found at:

<u>www.anglican.org.nz/News/General-Synod/Te-Hinota-Whanui-Kite-An-Introduction-to-the-General-Synod-te-Hinota-Whanui.</u>

Note that at GSTHW 2018 it was resolved that one of the representatives from each Diocese shall where possible be a youth representative, as defined by that Tikanga.

Diocesan representatives to General Synod <u>must be available to attend all meetings plus travelling time</u>. Ideally nominees will have a broad knowledge of the Diocese and the Anglican Church in New Zealand,

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring and eligible for re-election. \*\*Retiring and not standing again

<sup>\*</sup>Retiring and eligible for re-election. \*\* Retiring and not standing again.

including the 3-Tikanga Constitution, the ability to understand, discuss, and debate proposed legislation and issues of the day. It is desirable that at least one clerical and one lay representative will be a young person. Elections are conducted at Synod under **The General Synod/Te Hinota Whānui Representation Statute** (C4 Diocesan Handbook) and nominations must be made **on the yellow GSTHW form**. Laity nominate and vote for laity; clergy nominate and vote for clergy.

<u>Note carefully:</u> Elected member will also be members of the Tikanga Pakeha Conference (TPC), which normally meets with GSTHW, but may also meeting separately from time to time. One of the elected GSTHW members will need to be a member of the TPC Co-ordinating Group (TPCCG) and one clergy/lay member will need to be available for election to the GSTHW Standing Committee.

The current GSTHW Representatives are:

Clergy representatives: Rev'd Dr Carolyn Roberson, Rev'd Lucy Flatt; Rev'd Toby Behan. Lay representatives: Byron Behm; Wanjiru Mariuki; Sue Robb; Vivienne Jackson