## Study Leave Committee 2020

The Study Leave Committee administers study leave in accordance with our diocesan statutes. This committee is responsible for approving the plans of those who, by virtue of their role, are covered by the diocesan study leave scheme. Clergy are able to make an application for three months study leave after seven years of service in this diocese.

One effect of the Covid-19 pandemic has been significant disruption to study leaves plans. This is likely to continue for the foreseeable future. The committee has supported those who were able to changes courses, take up a local offering, or split their leave. Two people were unable to travel overseas and so relinquished their scholarships. Another two people have deferred their study leave for the foreseeable. Plans for study leave in 2021 have been approved for five clergy at time of writing.

The committee remains committed to helping clergy to flourish through education and are grateful for the ongoing generosity of the St John's College Trust Board in granting scholarships to those who require financial support to be able to pursue their educational goals. Such scholarships currently enable several members of this diocese to study at tertiary and post-graduate level through educational providers within the Christian tradition.

The following clergy took study leave late in 2020 and will be presenting their key learnings to the committee in 2021: Josh Taylor, Meg Harvey, Natasha Glenderran (1 month leave in 2020).

Stephanie Robson - Convenor of the Study Leave Committee – May 2021