The Anglican Diocese of Christchurch is a regional jurisdiction within the Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia. It includes the central portion of the South Island comprising the Canterbury and Westland regions along with the Chatham Islands.

The operational structure of the Diocese is comprised of three independent bodies: ‘Anglican Diocese of Christchurch,’ ‘Anglican Care,’ and ‘Church Property Trustees.’

Diocese Operational Structure


‘The Anglican Diocese of Christchurch’ is the ministry body of the diocese which encompasses the parishes, ministry programmes and services, clergy and ministry staff. Anglican Care is the social services and social justice body of the diocese that oversees four main divisions: City Mission, Anglican Advocacy, Anglican Community Development and Anglican Care South Canterbury. The Church Property Trustees own and manage all of the property and investments of the Diocese.

Each body is governed by an independent board. The ‘Anglican Centre’ is a partnership between these bodies which supplies administrative and operational support services such as accounting, human resources, health and safety and communications to each body.

Together, as a Diocese these entities work towards the Anglican Communion’s five marks of mission:

* To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom
* To teach, baptise and nurture new believers
* To respond to human need by loving service
* To transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and pursue peace and reconciliation
* To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation, and sustain and renew the life of the earth